Our documentation is changing, please click here to enjoy it!

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

6.1 Optin method through my own domain

What are the prerequisites to use the new opt-in process ? 

First of all, before integrating this opt-in process, be sure that you have correctly integrated our SDK by following the steps described in our documentation.

Already done it ? Let's start !

  1. You have to download a zip file from our back-office (Settings > Manage application >)  and upload the following files to your website root direction :
    1. manifest.json
    2. acc_sw.js
    3. acc_ww.js

      Example : 

  2. You have to reference "manifest.json" in all your website pages by including the following tag in the <head> of the pages : 
    1. <link rel="manifest" href"/manifest.json">

      Important

      Be careful, if you already have a file named "manifest.json" in your website, you'll have to merge the lines from "manifest.json" into your existing file

  3. If you're migrating from an older version of our SDK and once the steps described above are complete, activate the new opt-in process in the Accengage Dashboard :
    1. Log in into the Accengage Dashboard
    2. Go to "Settings > Manage Application" and click on "Edit"
    3. Then, change your SDK version for the new one : 3.3.x or higher
    4. Enable the checkbox called "Use my own domaiin name"
    5. Click on save

      Example :


 

 

 

What is the purpose of the files available in the Zip file ? 

Browsers need those files to keep the push web working properly.

When using the historical optin method (through the Accengage's domain or a custom one), the files are hosted in the Accengage's databse.

Now, as the optin process is proceed directly on your domain those files must be hosted in your own website. If they are not, the optin process will not work.

Is the new opt-in process available for all users ? 

No, this new opt-in process is available only for users navigating in "HTTPs".

This means that your website must be available in HTTPs if you want to use this opt-in method.

If the user navigates in your website through "HTTP", then he'll have the same opt-in process as before. In otherwise he'll have the Accengage landing page before the browser's native permission request.

What happens if my website is avaialble both in HTTP and HTTPs ? 

User navigating through HTTP will have the same process as before, meaning by the Accengage landing page.

Users navigating through HTTPs will have the new opt-in process.

Can I update my SDK version without using the new opt-in process ? 

As said in our first answer, to activate the new opt-in method you have to enable it in the Accengage dashboard.

This said, if you don't want to use this new process, keep the checkbox disabled. However we highly recommend you to use it as it can accelerate a lot your users engagement.

Note that this new opt-in process is by default disabled.

Can I have duplicated users between ones optin in HTTP and ones optin in HTTPs for the same website ?

Our SDK can recognize if a user is optin HTTP or HTTPs.

This means that a user opt-in in HTTP and navigating on your website through HTTPs will not be ask to opt-in again.

Same thing for the ones opt-in in HTTPs and navigating through your website in HTTP.

However and as before, if the user deletes his navigation data, the SDK will not be able to recognize him meaning that your website will possibly ask him to opt-in once again even if he has replied before the navigation data deletion.

Can I use buttons, specific pages, interstitials etc... to display the native the native pop to the user ? 

Yes, you can ask the opt-in to the user when he clicks on a specific button, consults a specific page or when an interstitials appears by using a new SDK method called : requestBrowserPermission().

This method can be called the same way as the other SDK methods :

ACC.push(['push:requestBrowserPermission']).

Depending on which opt-in process you're using (the new one or the Accengage landing page), your website will propose the right process to the user : 

  • If the user is navigating through HTTPs and if the new process is implemented in your website and activated in the Accengage dashboard, the SDK will display the browser's native permission
  • If the user is navigating through HTTP, the SDK will use the Accengage landing page which will call the browser's native permission

As a user of the Accengage dashboard, do I still have one database per application ? 

Yes, this new opt-in process does not affect the databases and you'll still have one database per application in the Accengage dashboard.

6.2 The user is not yet opt-in

Unable to render {include} The included page could not be found.

6.3 The user is already opt-in

6.2.1 Default browser setting changes

What happens if the user does not allow third-party cookies ? 

 

The SDK will not be able to run for the specific user. The latter will not be registered in the user database, nor will he receive push notifications.

Chrome (desktop)

Chrome (desktop)

 

Chrome (mobile)

Chrome (mobile)


6.2.2 Concerning the Native Notification Permission

What happens if the user blocks all notifications in Chrome's settings ?

In this case, the user won't be able to subscribe to push notification. The use of the SDK method push:isCompliant will apply an onError callback, telling that the “User has denied notification permission”.

Chrome (desktop)

Chrome (mobile)


On the optout-to-optin page, what happens if the user closes the browser's native permission ?

The user is opt-out and not registered in the Accengage database. But, the native permission can be re-displayed.

 

On the optout-to-optin page, what happens if the user blocks the browser's native permission ?

The user is opt-out and not registered in the Accengage database. His response to the permission will be visible in Chrome’s settings with the “block” status. He must change his permission to allow or delete it in order to re-display the native permission.



6.2.3 Concerning the Accengage HTML Alert

What happens if the user refuses the Accengage HTML Alert ?

The user is opt-out and not registered in the Accengage database. But the device ID is nevertheless registered in the browser's database.

 

What happends if the user closes the Accengage HTML Alert ?

The user is opt-out. If he clicks on the close box or does not interact with the alert, then, at the next opening of the page, the option “reAskingDelay” will be questioned in order to identify if the alert needs to be re-displayed or not.

  • No labels