Our documentation is changing, please click here to enjoy it!

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

 

6.3.1 How to retrieve my own Device ID ?

To retrieve your Device ID, go to our interface > Targeting > Search and click on the link “Want to find your Device ID”

Please note that you have to do this with the same browser you have been using to be opt-in on your website.

6.3.2 Concerning the browser cache deletion

What happens if Chrome browsing data is cleared (especially while ticking the "Cookies and other site and plugin data" option)?

If the user has ticked the “Cookies & site data” option, it will clear all the necessary data stored by the SDK.

Chrome (desktop)

 

Chrome (mobile)

So, if the user carries on navigating your website, he will be considered as opt-out, get a new device ID and token and the HTML alert will appear again. If he accepts the alert, the permission is automatically accepted and the new user will become opt-in once again.

Otherwise, if the user doesn’t carry on navigating your website, he will no longer receive notifications.

 

With a mobile device, what happens if the user clears data in Chrome’s App settings?

Chrome's App settings has two “Clear” buttons

The “Clear Cache” button will have no effect on push notification reception. The user will still be considered as opt-in and continue to receive push notifications.

On the other hand, the “Clear Data” button will delete all the data concerning the user and stored by the SDK. The permission will also be deleted. So, the user will no longer receive notifications. if the user carries on navigating your website, he will be considered as opt-out, get a new device ID and token and the HTML alert will appear again. If he accepts the alert and the permission, the new user will become opt-in once again.

6.3.3 Changing the Native Notification Permissions

What happens if the user deletes a notification permission in Chrome's settings?

If the user carries on navigating your website, the user will be considered as opt-out, the HTML alert and the notification permission can be displayed again. If he accepts, he will get a new token and the user will become opt-in once again.

Otherwise, if the user doesn’t carry on navigating your website, he will no longer receive notifications. In this case, sent notifications to that particular user will return a bounce.

Chrome (desktop)

Chrome (mobile)


What happens if the user blocks a notification permission in Chrome's settings?

If the user carries on navigating your website, he will be considered as opt-out. He can still change the notification permission to allow reception again, he will then become opt-in and a new token will be generated.

Otherwise, if the user doesn’t carry on navigating your website, he will no longer receive notifications. Sent notifications to this particular user will return a bounce.

Example with Chrome (mobile)




6.3.4 About Chrome ServiceWorkers

What happens if the user clicks on terminate in the ServiceWorker page ?

The user will continue to receive notifications with or without reloading the page.

With Chrome, this page is accessible at chrome://inspect/#service-workers

 

What happens if the user clicks on unregister in the ServiceWorker-internals page ?

If the user carries on navigating your website the user will be considered as opt-out, the Accengage HTML alert can be displayed again. If he accepts the alert, the permission will automatically be accepted and the user will become opt-in once again.

Otherwise, if the user doesn’t carry on navigating your website, he will no longer receive notifications.

With Chrome, this page is accessible at chrome://serviceworker-internals

  • No labels